Pole to Pole in the Netherlands

pickopie

In the Netherlands wildcamping is forbidden. If you find a nice place to put up your tent, it’s not allowed. But to compensate a little the Dutch forrest administration pointed out some designated places to camp out and see what Dutch nature can be like. These places are called “Paalkampeerplaats”, roughly translated as “pole camping place”.

With my bike I will go from pole to pole and check out these places. Do they sleep well, are they away from traffic and can I really feel like I’m out in the bush when a place is designated?

Every day I will post a very short story (not more then 200 words) about an experience of that day with a picture on my Facebook page. And of course a picture of the place I’ve slept!

Leave a Reply

