Rollerblading LeJog

Am I really doing this? Well, I bought bus tickets to Penzance, so I guess I’m really doing this! It’s been 16 months I’ve been standing on rollerblades, but what is learned cannot be unlearned.

Yes, I’m really doing this! Last year I’ve made a rollerblade journey from the most eastern point to the most western point in the Netherlands. 450 kilometers, in the midst of winter. But the country was flat and the roads where great to rollerblade on. Now it will be  different.

Schermafbeelding 2015-03-20 om 00.12.09

Last years journey on rollerblades

So, what will I do? August 20th I’ll leave for Lands End, UK’s most southern point. There I will put on my rollerblades and seven and a half weeks later I will take them off, hopefully at John ‘O Groats, the most northern point of Scotland. A solo and self supported journey from hilly England (hopefully in the indian summer) till the emptiness of Scotland in the autumn. But why would one do this on rollerblades? Am I mad??

Yes, a little. And I think rollerblading is a great way to explore a country. It’s not too fast, not too slow. It’s the perfect way to meet people, see the landscape slowly changing, feel the hills and maybe fly over some mountains. Rollerblading is a great way to travel and spare your knees. But why would I do LeJog?

lejogskate

 

Myths, legends and local stories have always interested me. Stories with a certain degree of mystery in them. Personal stories. I loved the stories my father told me, the stories from my own region or the mysterious stories from other countries. I will go on a hunt for these stories. During my journey I will collect local stories, myths and legends or even the odd pub-story and see how the personal connection is with the teller of the story. Every region has it’s own stories. Some of them are well hidden, others are there to see with the naked eye; in the form of an old ruin or in the name of a pub. The UK has many of these old legends, myths or local stories to collect. A structure like Stonehenge, the tale of king Arthur or other more local, but therefor not less mysterious: the “Hellhound’s Heaven”. An island where fog can play tricks on the eyes, forgotten ruins are everywhere, and small pub’s are filled with local knowledge. I will collect these stories and connect them with my own story, making a personal journey trough the myths and legends of the UK.

Next to this, I feel a journey should be round; from the most eastern to the most western point. From the beginning of the beach to the end, from the most southern point the the most northern. This makes the LeJog route perfect. Oh and it’s easy to get there from my hometown.

The 20th of August I will take the bus (yeah, nice and cheap) to the UK and rollerblade 1600 kilometers. From next week on I will train my legs for this distance, the hills and the weather of the UK.

If you live in the UK and would like to host or join me between the 20th of August and the 12th of October , hit me up trough this website or send me a message trough my Facebook page! 

Schermafbeelding 2015-02-18 om 17.29.42

The flat roads of the Netherlands

10 thoughts on “Rollerblading LeJog

  1. Best of luck for this journey 🙂 I love your ideas of collecting stories. Will you share them on this blog?
    If I can join you along the way, I’ll definitely come say hello and cheer you on.

  2. Pingback: Summer’s here – and a new adventure for 2016 | Henk's Life & Adventure Journal

  3. Due to how little time I had, it’s been a while since I last visited your blog. I love that you’re still actively doing this. :))) I look forward to reading more about your journeys. Support from Croatia!

    • Thanks for the message Kiki! Adventure and outdoorstuff is still a huge part of my life, Im trying to have an adventure at least twice a year 🙂 Great that you still visit this spot now and then!

  4. Erwin – I have been enjoying your blog. I am wondering if I can email some questions about a similar trip I have scheduled NEXT WEEK for rollerblading across the Netherlands. I am looking for some advice. Thanks in advance for fielding a few questions.

Leave a Reply

